Newbie GP14 Restoration

share hints, tips and experiences
lawrence_craig

Newbie GP14 Restoration

Post by lawrence_craig »

Hi all,

I recently bought an old GP14 MK2. Did a water test on her and looks like she needs some work in terms of making her watertight. I was wondering if you could help me. There are 2 major leaks I can see (photos attached)

1 on the bow
1 on the stern

I've stripped back the bow leak but cant find the source. The leak on the stern comes from rot I believe.

I have Marine epoxy and sealant. I am also going to have to clearly repaint parts.

My plan was to scrape away the paint in the affected areas (paint scrapper and white spirit). Remove the rot. Then fill it with epoxy. Sand it down to an even surface (hand or mechanical sander) and then repaint it (international paint).

I'm new to wooden boats so please advise if I should change my plan or if there are any other materials I should be using.

Many thanks,
Lawrence

Bow Leak, stripped back

Stern Leak 1

Stern Leak 2
STEVEB

Re: Newbie GP14 Restoration

Post by STEVEB »

Hi,

That plan would get you back on the water though probably not for very long!

If you are serious about fixing this dinghy then you need to strip off all the paint off the hull, and then leave it to dry
out for a few months. Then cut out all the damaged timber ans scarf + epoxy glue in new bits.

Alternatively pick up a cheap fibreglass hull and transfer the rig, move yours to the club bonfire.

Good luck

Steve :evil:
STEVE
Mermaid 137
Laser 41420
Streaker 1331
lawrence_craig

Post by lawrence_craig »

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the reply. I love wooden boats so would be against scrapping her.

I think your plan sounds reasonable. Do you have any resources suitable for learning how to scarf and epoxy? I have a rough idea, but always better to go by something.

Thanks,
Lawrence
TheGuvnah

Post by TheGuvnah »

Here y' go Lawrence,

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j ... 9880,d.d24